cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board  

Go Back   cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board > non-Sports > Art/Movies/Media/Music/Books
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-30-2006, 03:51 AM   #1
MikeWaters
Demiurge

MikeWaters is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Baghdad ER on HBO

I just saw most of it tonight. My heart goes out to those people. Both the wounded guys and all the medical personel.

When I was a med student I worked in a crazy public hospital, did ER work among the surgeons. All those ER trauma scenes brought back memories of all the trauma cases that would roll in. I would be one of the guys putting on EKG leads, and taking care of tasks here and there. It was a high stress environment. A lot of memories.

That sort of work takes its toll. And then to live in a place where you could be hit by a mortar any second. To never go more than a half mile from the hospital. I can only imagine. Waking up and dreading the next mangled soldier to be medevaced in.

One thought that I kept having is why can't we do a better job when it comes to IED's? Isn't there something more we can do? I can't imagine driving a truck in Iraq, just wondering when you are going to get blown up. With all our money and technology it is a shame that we can't do better. The enemy is viral. It mutates faster than we can make the vaccine.