cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board  

Go Back   cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board > SPORTS! > Cycling
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-11-2007, 04:06 AM   #1
bYuPride

bYuPride is an unknown quantity at this point
Default riding alone...

how many of you ride/train alone? my FIL and I plan to ride together tomorrow and Saturday, but most of the time, I ride alone. It sometimes is kind of boring. any recommendations to make the my rides more interesting? i'm still learning the ropes, but i've been able to hang with some other guys my FIL rides with... i still have a lot to learn however, but i really want to be taught so yeah........
Get your BYU license plates http://dmv.utah.gov/licensecollegiate.html#byu You do not have to wait for your current registration to expire. Get your freakin' plates on your vehicle and be TRUE BLUE!!!!!!

"I'm on my beater bike"

Translation: I had this baby custom-made in Tuscany using titanium blessed by the Pope. I took it to a wind tunnel and it disappeared. It weighs less than a fart and costs more than a divorce.
bYuPride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 04:26 AM   #2
bluegoose

bluegoose is on a distinguished road

I usually ride with at least one other person. It increases the chance of there being witnesses in case some moron decides to take a lone straggler out with his extended passenger side mirror. I think its safer to travel in numbers. People tend to give you a little more space.

As far as the boredom factor, I went out for an hour this morning solo and got a little bored. I occasionlly bring the iPod if I think I'm on a relatively safe road. Mixing up the workouts helps. If you are just going out for long, slow, endurance-building miles, it gets tedious. Sprints and intervals make the time go faster.