cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board  

Go Back   cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board > non-Sports > Religion
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-13-2006, 04:20 AM   #1
danimal

danimal is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Utah leading nation in volunteering - props to church

Interesting article on how utah leads the nation in volunteer service -- almost double the national average. ARticle says likely due to LDS church.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20060612/...tah_volunteers
Tobias: You know, Lindsay, as a therapist, I have advised a number of couples to explore an open relationship where the couple remains emotionally committed, but free to explore extra-marital encounters.

Lindsay: Well, did it work for those people?

Tobias: No, it never does. I mean, these people somehow delude themselves into thinking it might, but...but it might work for us.
danimal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2006, 02:33 PM   #2
JohnnyLingo

JohnnyLingo has a little shameless behaviour in the past

Good job, Utah.

This report sure goes against the beliefs of many here. Maybe that's why no one else has commented yet.

Thanks for the link.
JohnnyLingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2006, 02:39 PM   #3
MikeWaters
Demiurge

MikeWaters is an unknown quantity at this point

Certainly church callings demand a lot of time...

In my case, I feel much better about my service in Scouts than I did being the exec. secretary. Not that you don't need ESs, but because it is boring and just endless meetings (which accomplish much good, but I'd rather be in the trenches).
MikeWaters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2006, 02:41 PM   #4
DrumNFeather
Active LDS Ute Fan

DrumNFeather is an unknown quantity at this point