PDA

View Full Version : Downhill countersteering techniques

bluegoose
05-30-2006, 08:49 PM
Much like most of my other hobbies, I am a self-taught cyclist. When I first learned how to golf, my buddies said "It's kind of like baseball, only lower". When I first got on a bike, my buddies just made sure I knew which side of the bike was supposed to stay on the pavement. Downhill steering technique never came up.

I was recently talking to a friend of mine who rides motorcycles. He was telling me that when steering a motorcycle you actually push on the handle bar on the SAME side as the direction that you want to turn. He called it countersteering. This sounded totally counterintuitive to me, but just for kicks I decided to try it out. To my amazement, it worked like a charm on a road, especially on the downhills.

Upon further inquiry, it turns out most serious roadies do this for their downhill steering. The "counter" part of the countersteering comes in the form of a slight hip rotation on the saddle in the opposite direction as the turn.

I've been trying this for a couple of months now and I feel much more stable while downhilling.

My question is - Do you guys do this and is the idea the same for serious mountain biking downhillers?

Archaea
05-30-2006, 09:29 PM
Somebody has talked to me about this, and when I remember I do it; otherwise, I'm not certain.

Quisqueyano
05-30-2006, 09:54 PM
My downhill steering technique follows 2 principles that seem to work very well.
1-Where the head goes, the body follows. I proactively point my head where I want to go.
2-be sure that your foot opposite the direction of the curve is in a down stroke. perpendicular to the road.
Other than that,grip it and rip it. If I don't feel comfortable, I do not feel bad about slowing down. I am not in a race and getting home minus gravel under the skin is a priority of mine.

creekster
06-28-2006, 06:36 PM